I want to be a physicist but I'm not good at math

• Thread starter TheUberPhysics
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physicist
In summary, math skills are essential for studying physics, but they can be learned and improved with practice. The key is to have a strong understanding of the concepts in order to apply them in mathematical form. This may be challenging, but with the right resources and dedication, it is possible to excel in both subjects.
TheUberPhysics
I always think if is it hard if you are not good at math

Physics news on Phys.org
TheUberPhysics said:
I always think if is it hard if you are not good at math

You don't need to be naturally talented at math to do physics, and your math ability is not static either. Yes, you'll need lots of math to study physics (calculus, differential equations, linear algebra are the basics); look up books by Serge Lang and videos by Khan Academy and start practicing.

clope023 said:
You don't need to be naturally talented at math to do physics, and your math ability is not static either. Yes, you'll need lots of math to study physics (calculus, differential equations, linear algebra are the basics); look up books by Serge Lang and videos by Khan Academy and start practicing.

Thanks dude

I'm taking a college level physics I course right now, and I find it pretty challenging.

The actual figuring isn't hard for me. (Unless you have problems with trig, like me. :D)

It's deriving the pieces of the equation that proves to be tough. You've got to know the material pretty solid, because much of it seems to just build on the previous matter. You are given a few figures as a word problem, and may have to plug that into 3 or 4 different formulas to get your final answer. All the while manipulating the equations as you go to find what you need.