1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I want to become an astronomer but im studying computer engineering

1. Apr 7, 2013 #1
    ok. im going to learn computer engineering in university. i am pretty involved it and IT savvy for that matter. but i have had this ambition, ever since i was a kid, i wanted to be a astronomer. it still is my dream. every time i watch an documentary on space, i am deeply indulged and i instantly fall in space with its vastness and quiet magnificence. my question is, can i become an astronomer after studying computer engineering? or too late for me to change my destined 'career'? pls help me!!!!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 7, 2013 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

First, you need to write English properly, and not text-speak like "pls". Apart from this being part of the forum rules, which you agreed to when you joined, people will judge you by your writing.

Second, it is far, far easier to become an astronomer if you study physics or astronomy as an undergrad. If you study something else, you will need to catch up, and will be uncompetitive until you do.

4. Apr 7, 2013 #3
    What a coincidence, I'm a physicist that's looking to become a computer programmer. How bout we trade places?

No seriously, if you're thinking about a future where you procreate and provide for a family, I'd forget about astronomy. Some people do make it happen, but they are the exceptions, not the rule. Anyone who says otherwise is trying to get cheap 'grad student' labor.

If you're really passionate about it. You can reach out to some professors and offer to volunteer doing computer stuff for them. If you're lucky they may ask you to assist with developing code for data analysis.

5. Apr 7, 2013 #4