1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying I want to study real physics as a beginner

1. Jan 20, 2016 #1
    Physics has always intrigued me and being that I love science, I think this would be a great opportunity to gain knowledge. I am currently a freshman in high school and I find that most of the things be taught here, how should I say this? Boring. Since I want to start physics and being that I am a beginner it would be great if this community would point me at the right direction as to where to start. My goal currently is to find a few books to read and learn about physics as a beginner.

PS. I have no knowledge of calculus

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 20, 2016 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

If you want to study real and actual physics, you better start by getting good at math, particularly calculus. So what math are you comfortable with and what math not at all? Do you know trigonometry, geometry? If so, you can start studying calculus.

4. Jan 20, 2016 #3
    I have done SOME geometry and trigonometry, I am currently doing honors algebra and most likely moving up to honors geometry next year when I am a sophomore.

5. Jan 20, 2016 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Well, you need to be extremely comfortable with trigonometry. So you might want to fix that first, and then you can do calculus.

6. Jan 20, 2016 #5
    Where shall I start then?

7. Jan 20, 2016 #6

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Do Geometry, then take Trig or Pre-Calculus.

8. Jan 20, 2016 #7
    Is there a possibility I can read any books? for beginners?

9. Jan 20, 2016 #8

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award