Idea of efficient electricity generating system model?

In summary, the conversation revolves around a proposed perpetual motion machine involving a river and a hydraulic ball motor. The idea is to use the energy from the falling and rising balls to power hatches and other mechanisms. However, the concept has been debunked as it requires more energy than initially thought and is not a feasible source of energy. The conversation is then closed as the topic of perpetual motion is not allowed on the forum.
sci_fan
Hello,
Ok, this may be a stupid one, I'm not a scientist nor engineer, but it's been haunting me since, due to some conjuncture, it came into my mind. Sorry if this is not the right category for this topic.
I attached very rough sketches about this. A very summary description:
1. Any kind of river, just be on a slope.
2. We make a cavity, a hole, split in 2, one column with water, one empty. The one with water, of course, gets easily suplied with water without any energy from the river (communicating strainer wall, other, etc).
3. As in the pictures, we have 2 hatches that open and close to stop and allow water depending of the position of the ball(s).
4. Hollow balls, filled with air inside, maybe metallic in order to be able to use some permanent magnets on the top edge to easily redirect it back to the empty column when it gets out of the water column (?)
5. Very short story: horizontal hatch gets closed to block water; remaining water gets drained; vertical hatch gets open to allow entrance of ball; ball(s) get(s) down the empty column to the bottom V shape; vertical hatch closed, ball trapped; horizontal hatch opens, water gets in, ball goes up; on the top, some kind of efficient mechanism (magnets?) to redirect ball to the empty column; the hatches will be actioned by the energy provided by the ball(s) falling/going up generators;

Is it completely non-sense? Inefficient? Can you please let me know, so I can get this out of my mind :)