Ideas for a Physics Project (Fluid Dynamics)

In summary, the high school student is looking for advice on how to come up with a science project that is original and not something that has been done before. He has a level of knowledge in math and physics that is sufficient to do some research on his own, but he is not confident enough in his skills to do a complete model of a wave's behavior. He is also interested in global warming and storm waves, but does not know enough math to do a complete model of either.
PhysicsGuy12341
I am a high school student interested in fluid dynamics, especially the Physics of ocean waves. So I'm hoping to do a science fair project about the Physics of sea waves, maybe for local science fair, or if it's really good, ISEF.

The trouble is, I don't know what to do, especially because the science fairs I am considering all demand original research (not just research that has been only done by me, but as in original research). And I can't think of any ideas that have not been taken already. I've thought of doing a project to do with how global warming is affecting wave behaviour, and analysing the Physics behind that. But that won't work because I'm sure people have already done research on that. I've also thought of a project about looking at how storm waves are affected by wind speed. But the problem is first, there is no need for that, because we already have the weather observatory to do research on all those things. And second, I don't think I know enough math to completely model all of the things that effect a storm wave's behaviour.