Interesting side project ideas for an undergrad (beginner)?

In summary, the speaker is a second-year physics student looking for interesting projects to pursue alongside their core academics. They have self-taught themselves about EM and have already covered Newtonian mechanics. They are interested in finding a physics software project to work on since they have been programming for years. They are also open to self-learning more in physics to gain a stronger background. They have been following physicsforums for 3-4 years and appreciate its evolution. They are advised to find a project that personally excites them and to reach out to professors or someone at their school for potential opportunities.
sarvesh0303
So I'm entering my second year in uni doing a physics degree. We're just about to tackle on some of the interesting topics like EM (which I've self-learnt before), Classical Mechanics(we've already covered Newtonian) and QMech. Apart from my core academics, I'm interested in pursuing some projects on the side but I'm finding it hard to find one in the domain of physics. Could someone point out anything interesting? As a note, I've been programming for years now, so some kind of physics software project would be a great idea. Or do you guys think I should spend my time self-learning more in physics so that I have more background to get involved?

Btw, I've been a follower of physicsforums for almost 3-4 years now, and it has evolved beautifully. Shout-out to the admins.

Likes berkeman
Physics news on Phys.org
I think the real key to something like this is that you have to find something that you personally are excited about doing. You might want to ask around among some of your professors to find out if there's an opportunity to do a project with one of them, or someone at your school.

1. What are some interesting side project ideas for an undergraduate beginner?