1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Importance of CS to the Mathematics/Physics Major.

1. Oct 8, 2008 #1
    Hey,

I'm an undergraduate and since freshman year have been double majoring in: Mathematics and Physics. However, recently things like: NSF REU options, internal/external lab positions, overall academic competitiveness, and finanical options (read: a nice salary); has me really wondering if I should study Computer Science in addition to my majors of Mathematics and Physics?

As it stands I can handle my mathematics and physics majors, however CS is significantly different. I guess if I added CS, I would be going for a double major with a minor in CS (or even a triple major :yuck:).

I was wondering if anyone else is seeing this trend? In my perspective, it just seems I see way too much programming in: positions I'd like and internships I want to get. I would also think mathematicians/physicists with a knowledge of CS have an advantage in terms of the options CS provides, that is the ability to create their own programs to help aid their research.

Thanks,

-PFStudent

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2008 #2
    just study it yourself. Some of the best computer programmers are physicists. Just think: In the 1970's there was no "computer science major."

Many of the best programmers didn't get a computer science "degree."

4. Oct 9, 2008 #3
    Tronter is right. I have a physics undergrad and now work for a computer company. I am a coder and just learned the language myself.

5. Oct 9, 2008 #4
    commercial coding is the most boring thing ever, study computational science and then you'll get to program really cool things like trading strategies.

6. Oct 9, 2008 #5