1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Impossible to understand physics teacher!

1. Aug 29, 2012 #1
    Okay so I started my first calculus based physics class, the first day I realize he has a very bad accent but I feel like I might be able to understand him. The second day we really start getting into vectors, magnitude, cross product, dot product, etc, i'm sure the supposedly really easy stuff, if I had a professor I could understand. I believe I have a pretty good hold on the beginnings now, but I really need to find a good alternative book that I can use to help me get through this course because I have a good feeling this will be a self-taught class. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Oh by the way I do have the study guide for my book and although it helps a little it isn't nearly enough.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 29, 2012 #2
    Do you sit in the front row? That sometimes helps.

4. Aug 29, 2012 #3
    I found that spending 20 minutes reading about the material that will be covered in the next class makes it much easier to follow!

5. Aug 29, 2012 #4
    My first year college physics teacher was from China. Durta Wee was "Delta V". You will eventually catch on. Be patient. However, make use of tutors and don't wait until you are lost. Consider finding or forming a study group, as it can help you throughout your college years. Stay on top of the material, and go for help any time you are uncertain. All will be good.

6. Aug 29, 2012 #5
    Read the book yourself. Now is a good time to teach yourself how to learn independently.

7. Aug 29, 2012 #6

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

My freshman calculus teacher was from BOSTON. I had to work out what "delters" and "omegers" were!

8. Aug 29, 2012 #7

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus