In what order should I take courses as a math major?

In summary: I am more concerned with the academic structure.Hello,I got accepted into UIUC math programme (I will major most likely in applied math) and I wonder in what order I should take courses.In summary, it is recommended to take courses in the order recommended by the department or student adviser. There may be prerequisites for certain courses that need to be fulfilled. It is also suggested to speak with an academic advisor for guidance. It is important to take your time and properly grasp the foundation of each course rather than rushing through to complete the degree in a specific timeframe.
kacperp94
Hello,
I got accepted into UIUC math programme (I will major most likely in applied math) and I wonder in what order I should take courses.
My background is Math IB HL (7), so it is about calculus II. Additionally, as a preparation I decided to work with Spivak's Calculus to get more acquainted with analysis.
I would like to pursue my degree in 6-7 semesters. Do you have any tips about order in which I should take courses + is it worth to pursue double major (i.e. math and finance)?

Physics news on Phys.org
kacperp94 said:
Hello,
I got accepted into UIUC math programme (I will major most likely in applied math) and I wonder in what order I should take courses.
My background is Math IB HL (7), so it is about calculus II. Additionally, as a preparation I decided to work with Spivak's Calculus to get more acquainted with analysis.
I would like to pursue my degree in 6-7 semesters. Do you have any tips about order in which I should take courses + is it worth to pursue double major (i.e. math and finance)?

You should take your courses in the order recommended by the department or by your student adviser.

bp_psy said:
You should take your courses in the order recommended by the department or by your student adviser.

I did not find recommended order on website.

kacperp94 said: