Internships in the US as a Canadian

• Physics
  • Thread starter raina1234
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Internships
In summary, the person is a second-year Physics student in Canada looking for an 8-month co-op in the US. They are wondering if there are programs that accept Canadians, and if it is appropriate to reach out to professors directly. They mention the use of J-1 Visas for internships and research opportunities, and someone else provides information on obtaining a J-1 Visa. However, it is mentioned that having a sponsor is necessary and many internships are restricted to only US citizens or those already at a US university. They suggest looking into opportunities in Europe and Asia, but caution against putting the cart before the horse by figuring out the visa before finding a sponsor.
raina1234
Hi,

I apologize if this isn't the place to ask this. I am a second-year Physics student in Canada, and I have a scheduled 8-month co-op soon (from September 2020 to April 2021, yes it's still early). I wanted to work in the US, either as part of a national research laboratory, or a university, or any sort of internship program.

I noticed that many internships require US citizenship, so I was wondering if anyone knew of programs that take Canadians? Also, would it be weird to reach out to professors at US universities directly?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Fifteen years ago or so, when my wife was an MASC student, she used to do 4-month internships at GM under a J-1 visa.

Thank you for your reply!

I've heard of people doing this but it seems like they arrange the J-1 Visa after they have gotten a job offer. I guess my question is, how does one go about getting said job offer as a Canadian with no US Visa? Are J-1 Visas required to intern in the US? I'm not too knowledgeable on the subject.