1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Majors Internship Opportunities

1. Oct 24, 2013 #1
    Hey there. I made a thread in the academic guidance section, but I was advised to look here as part of my question pertained more to this area so here I am.

I won't go into as much detail, but basically I'm an electrical engineering sophomore at the University of Houston on a full ride; however I feel that I'd enjoy a physics major much more while still being able to get into a graduate engineering program and ideally an engineering profession.

A couple questions, however:

1. I know many fellow engineering sophomores getting interviewed for high paying internships. While I'm sure physics interns don't get payed nearly as much, I was wondering if physics undergrads even had good opportunities for internships in general? Something to give me experience in a job and perhaps make a little money to help pay for grad school. Another thing with engineering internships is that often the business may pay for grad school as well; would any business be willing to pay for a physics undergrads engineering masters? Or is that mostly relegated to EE undergrads? Because while money should not be the only factor, I could always just study some physics on my own later in life if I can put myself in a fantastic financial situation.