Is an Impact Hammer Setup Suitable for Lightweight Modal Analysis?

In summary: You can probably find something on experimental modal analysis on the internet too, but I would recommend talking to a professor or TA.In summary, the impact hammer may be unsuitable for this application because the flexing will attenuate the higher order modes. Travis may need to do some hand calculations to determine the mode frequencies.
twarner
Hello, I need some help with setup/equipment used for a study to determine the natural frequencies on some small, lightweight samples (12in x 1.5in x .12 in.) in a catilever beam setup. The samples are made of carbon fiber and kevlar so they are fairly flexible to begin with. I am working on an undergrad thesis and I am very new to this type of testing.

I am currently trying to use the equipment that is already available to me: Impact hammer with signal conditioner and oscilloscope. I am wondering if this setup will yield accurate results or do I need something different for such a lightweight application.

There is also a shaker available to me with a computer and software but I opted to try the impact hammer first because the shaker, rated for 300lbs. of force seems much to large for these samples.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Travis

Engineering news on Phys.org
It's probably a good idea to first do some hand calcs to see what the first couple of vibrational modes are, to see what frequencies you will be working at. That will help you decide what setup will be best suited for what you're trying to do.

Like i said, I have never done any work in vibration and have no idea what types of hand calculations I would need. I will attempt to do some research on that.

Maybe you can answer this question, what is the differenct between a FFT spectrum, and a FRF function? I am able to generate a FFT spectrum on the oscilloscope but is it possible to determine the mode frequencies from that?