1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is dn = dS = 0 when two phases are equilibrium?

1. Dec 20, 2015 #1
    Hello, every one! I'm studying the Section 9.2 - Phase Equilibrium of "Classical and Statistical Thermodynamics" written by Carter.

In equation (9.21) and (9.22)

He said:

[itex]dS_{A}=\frac{1}{T_{A}}(dU_{A}+P_{A}dV_{A}-\mu _{A}dn_{A})[/itex]-----(9.21)

[itex]dS_{B}=\frac{1}{T_{B}}(dU_{B}+P_{B}dV_{B}-\mu _{B}dn_{B})[/itex]-----(9.22)

I think dS and differentials of all other state variables should be zero! That is, dSA=dSB=dnA=dnB=dVA=dVB=...=0

Is it correct? If it's correct, then I cannot get the following conclusions which needs to assume those increments dUA,dVA,dnA,... could be arbitrary.

TA = TB (thermal equilibrium)
    PA = PB (mechanical equilibrium)
    μA = μB (diffusive equilibrium)

Thanks in advance!!

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 21, 2015 #2

DrDu

Science Advisor

No, why should these differential be constant?

4. Dec 21, 2015 #3
    It's due to the definition of equilibrium. In other words, if those macroscopic state variables are not constant, then it's not at equilibrium.
    For example, if the color of the solution is changing, then it's not at equilibrium.

I don't know why I was wrong..

5. Dec 21, 2015 #4

DrDu

Science Advisor

But e.g. you can have a mixture of ice and water and even if some of the ice is melting (i.e. both the amount of ice and water is changing), the two are in equilibrium.

6. Dec 21, 2015 #5
    Really? Even if some of the ice is melting, the two are still in equilibrium?
    So... What's the definition of equilibrium? It seems that the exact definition of equilibrium is "the system is at equilibrium if and only if its entropy is a maximum".

Is that correct?

Thank you very much :)

7. Dec 21, 2015 #6