Weighing the Opportunity Cost of Going Back to School for CS

In summary, the conversation revolves around the individual's dilemma of wanting to go back to school to pursue a CS degree, despite already having a degree in IE/OR. The opportunity cost of two years' salary and educational expenses, along with potential loss of investment earnings, is estimated to be over $300k. The individual also expresses dissatisfaction with their current job and interest in coding, but is hesitant due to financial concerns.
Helicobacter
I graduated a year ago. I picked the wrong major (IE/OR), so I'm considering going back to get the "right" major within two years (CS). This translates into a opportunity loss of two years of salary (80k post tax for both years) and 20k in educational expenses per year (40k total). And that's assuming 2 years...it could be 2.5 years also. If I invested this amount (120k) could accrue an extra 180k (easily) until retirement. So the real opportunity cost here is >300k.

Is this too big of a price to pay for a career path that makes me happier?

I lose perspective with these big amounts. The reason I want to go back to get a CS degree:
- I like coding.
- I feel my competitive spirit rise when I see others at their coding gigs.
- I don't like any job which doesn't allow a casual dress code.
- My people skills aren't that great.
- It offers a lot of freedom. I can become independent as a contractor or entrepreneur. I could work for a company. I could go into research.

I got the cash (40k)...but half of it is in volatile instruments - so I would have to sell those long-term funds off.

Physics news on Phys.org

Helicobacter said: