1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is going back to school to get a second bachelors too big of a financial sacrifice?

1. Nov 27, 2011 #1
    I graduated a year ago. I picked the wrong major (IE/OR), so I'm considering going back to get the "right" major within two years (CS). This translates into a opportunity loss of two years of salary (80k post tax for both years) and 20k in educational expenses per year (40k total). And that's assuming 2 years...it could be 2.5 years also. If I invested this amount (120k) could accrue an extra 180k (easily) until retirement. So the real opportunity cost here is >300k.

Is this too big of a price to pay for a career path that makes me happier?

I lose perspective with these big amounts. The reason I want to go back to get a CS degree:
    - I like coding.
    - I feel my competitive spirit rise when I see others at their coding gigs.
    - I don't like any job which doesn't allow a casual dress code.
    - My people skills aren't that great.
    - It offers a lot of freedom. I can become independent as a contractor or entrepreneur. I could work for a company. I could go into research.

I got the cash (40k)...but half of it is in volatile instruments - so I would have to sell those long-term funds off.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 27, 2011 #2
    Re: Is going back to school to get a second bachelors too big of a financial sacrific

Hi, I am a final year IEOR major too and really wish that I had studied CS instead. I started a thread days ago at: https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=550002