Is Taking 9 Classes in One Semester Realistic?

In summary: I would not take Algebra this semester. I would instead take Linear Algebra and Calculus II.I strongly suggest not taking real analysis until you have a lot more experience with proofs and calculus.Otherwise, you will not have a good foundation to build upon.
Hurin
Hi, this is my first post here. I'm now in my first semester of my freshmen year. This semester is about to over, and I'm planning my classes for the next one. I have a huge interests in pure mathematics and theoretical physics. But my doubts are regarding time; 9 classes in one semester (42 h/week).

The disciplines that I want to take are (mandatory courses in bold): Algebra I, Real Analysis, Calculus II, Linear algebra I, Introduction to Probability and Statistics, Introduction to Computation, Physics I (Classical mechanics), Chemistry Fundamentals for Physics and Experimental Physics II (experiments in classical mechanics). I have no interests in conserve my social life or good sleep, but I do not want to be reproved in any course; so please someone help me with this dilemma.

Thanks.

P.s.: This semester sucks, I have no fascinating classes (calculus I, introduction to physics, experimental physics I and vector geometry). Can someone indicate good textbooks in Algebra and Real Analysis?
Thanks again.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Are you even allowed by your university to take that many classes in a semester? Even if you were allowed and are an exceptional student, I don't see this working out well.

fss said:
Are you even allowed by your university to take that many classes in a semester? Even if you were allowed and are an exceptional student, I don't see this working out well.

Yeah, it is allowed. i think that is a kind of trap, but it's allowed. If I keep only Algebra and analysis (and, of course, the mandatory ones) will it be difficult yet?

Last edited: