Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is the Levi-Civita connection unique for a given manifold?

1. Dec 16, 2011 #1
    Hi all,

To my understanding, the Levi-Civita connection is the torsion-free connection on the tangent bundle preserving a given Riemannian metric.

Furthermore, given any affine connection ∇, there is a unique torsion-free connection ∇′ with the same family of affinely parametrized geodesics. (from Wikipedia)

Does this imply that for a given Riemannian manifold there is a Levi-Civita connection that is unique for that manifold?

I am still learning this stuff so I am often having trouble seeing whether something is true or not :)

Edit: To elaborate, from the fundamental theorem of riemannian geometry, there is a unique torsion-free metric connection, called the Levi-Civita connection of the given metric.

Does this make this connection unique for that manifold? i.e. if I have a lot of manifolds can I identify them using the Levi-Civita connection?

Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 16, 2011 #2

quasar987

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

There is one Levi-Civita connection for each metric. But even different metrics can have the same Levi-Civita connection: for any positive constant c, the two metrics g and cg have the same Levi-Civita connection because it is easy to see that the Levi-Civita connection of g also is compatible with cg.

4. Dec 16, 2011 #3
    Of course, this makes sense, thank you!

On a side (or maybe main)-note, do you know if there is some other quantity that uniquely defines the manifold?

In my mind, if you start deforming a sphere, you can end up with infinite unique shapes, but the deviation from the original curvature can be calculated by the curvature tensor field.