Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is there mass if there is no gravity?

1. Oct 23, 2014 #1
    Hi, I am not a trained scientist, but I have a deep interest in spacetime, gravity, quantum mechanics (including string theory) . Can one assume that if there is no mass (or matter), there is no gravity (or gravitational force)?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 23, 2014 #2
    Welcome to PF jines!

4. Oct 23, 2014 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

In general relativity, "gravitation" (curvature of spacetime) is produced by the stress-energy tensor.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stress–energy_tensor

Mass contributes one form of energy, but there are other forms of energy, so it's possible to have gravitational effects without mass. For example, two antiparallel light beams (traveling in opposite directions) attract each other.

5. Oct 23, 2014 #4
    Thank you, jtbell. For purposes of clarification, would these two anti-parallel light beams (i.e, photons which are massless) be traveling on a "flat space-time", and they attract each other (newtonian), or would these light beams be travelling on a curved spacetime, and this curvature is due to their presence (general relativity)?

6. Oct 23, 2014 #5

PAllen

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The latter.

7. Oct 24, 2014 #6

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

The question you ask in your title, "Is there mass if there is no gravity", is the exact opposite of the question you ask in your post, "is the gravity if there is no mass".

Certainly, we could still talk about "intertial mass" if we had no gravity. There is, as yet, no good reason why the inertial mass (the "m" in F= ma) is the same as gravitational mass (the "m" in F= GmM/r^2).

8. Oct 25, 2014 #7
    In that case there actually is mass.

9. Oct 25, 2014 #8

PAllen

Science Advisor
    Gold Member