1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Jackson's Text is not my Friend-Any E+M Text Recommendations?

1. Sep 20, 2009 #1
    Jackson's Text is not my Friend--Any E+M Text Recommendations?

Hello Everyone,

I am a first year PhD student taking E+M. We are using, as many students do, the dear text by John David Djingleheimer Jackson. He seems like a pretty righteous dude, but I'm not feeling the textbook. Does anyone have any recommendations for supplementary texts? To give an example of a book I love: Shankar's Principles of Quantum Mechanics.

Much obliged.

-- Djinn

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2009 #2

CompuChip

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Re: Jackson's Text is not my Friend--Any E+M Text Recommendations?

I don't have much experience with E&M textbooks, but I found Griffith's book rather instructive. I like the way he sets things up and his writing style in general.

Jackson is indeed very rigorous, and I definitely recommend reading it to tighten your grip on the material - besides it is very useful as a reference. However, I agree that for learning, you mind find some other book useful.

4. Sep 20, 2009 #3

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Take a look at Schwinger's E&M text. I liked it a lot from what i read.

5. Sep 20, 2009 #4

TMM

I loved Shankar as well and found many of the same things I loved about Shankar in Griffiths. Griffiths is not as rigorous as Jackson of course, but it will prepare you well. Have you read Goldstein yet as well?

6. Sep 20, 2009 #5

Schwartz, Principles of Electrodynamics. I've also heard good things about Panofsky & Philips.

7. Sep 20, 2009 #6