1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Knowledge required for a research project using Kelvin Probe

1. Jul 16, 2011 #1
    Alright so a professor took me up for a research project which makes use of a Kelvin Probe. However I only have a year of introductory Physics under my belt (Mechanics and Waves & Oscillations). I started studying some of E&M which I assumed I needed to know, this summer but didn't get too far, only the first 3 chapters (Forces & Fields, Gauss' Law, and Electric Potential). I wanna know what are the topic I should be focusing on in order to understand what I'm doing with the probe. I realize that ideally I should have a good mastery of E&M but I'm gonna start using the probe on Monday so I don't really have time to do that. The experiment has to do with finding surfaces with inhomogeneous work functions or something of the like. Thanks for answering.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 16, 2011 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

You need to learn a bit of solid state physics. You need to know the meaning of work function, Fermi level (or energy), the energy bands for metals, semiconductors, insulators, etc. It gets a bit more involved depending on what you are using. You didn't indicate if you will be using a dedicated Kelvin probe, or if you are using something like an STM or AFM that can be converted into the Kelvin probe mode. You also didn't say on what material you will be measuring, or if you have to do your own calibration of the Kelvin probe tip. A measurement done on metals will give you directly the work function, whereas a measurement on a semiconductor will give you the Fermi level.