Am I Struggling with Mental Illness or Just Lazy?

• Thread starter physicist1985
  • Start date
In summary, the person in this conversation is struggling with their mental health and feelings of laziness. They have a history of dropping out of grad school and struggling to keep a job. They have regrets about leaving grad school the first time and have a desire to become a professor. They also express feelings of loneliness and a lack of purpose in life. They are seeking insight and help for their situation.
physicist1985
Am I mentally ill or just lazy? For the past 3 years of my life I haven't been able to accomplish anything. I graduated college in 2008 and went to grad school in EE. I got paranoid thinking I wasn't doing a good job and that I was going to lose my funding and started thinking the other grad students were spreading rumors about me. I ended up losing my mind which lead to me quitting, basically. I went back home and looked for a job. Couldn't find a job for about a year so I went back to grad school (the same school I dropped out of) but I wasn't fully funded this time...only partially funded. Well, I got really depressed and started sleeping 18 hours per day and wasn't doing any of my homework. I ended up leaving about 2 months later. When I left I was able to find a lab technician job at a semiconductor company but I hated the work. I stayed at this job for 6 months and I ended up going back to the same grad school (yes, dumb, I know) with no funding and I funded myself with student loans (paying out of state tuition) and brought my student loan debt even higher. The classes were way over my head and I ended up dropping them and moved back home. I found another job (electrical engineering), but the pay was really low and it was just a contract job. I stayed here for 6 months and then about 3 weeks abo I starte da new job as an engineer. I thought this would be a good opportunity so I took it. So far I have just been told to read stuff all day for