Liquid-Vapor Equilibrium and Vapor Pressure

In summary, the concept of vapor pressure depends solely on the temperature of the liquid, and in a container with water at 30°C, there will only be a vapor phase with a pressure of 31.8 mmHg regardless of other experimental conditions. However, in a container with a closed end and a piston, the presence of weights on top of the piston can create a pressure of 300 mmHg, but there would be no vapor present at equilibrium if there is no air present in the head space. The piston would be balanced by the water exerting 31.8 mmHg from its vapor pressure and an additional 268.2 mmHg in reaction to the piston's weight.
jaumzaum
I'm studying vapor pressure and I'm having trouble to understand some concepts.

Vapor pressure depends only on the temperature of the liquid in question right? For example, if we have a container with water at 30° C, it doesn't matter the experiment, would it ALWAYS be a vapor phase with pressure = vapor pressure of water at 30°C = 31.8 mmHg?

So consider the following experiment: In a container we have water at 30°C. One end is closed while in the other we have a piston. Above the pistons we have weights that do a initial pressure of 200mm Hg on the water. Is there water in the vapor state? I would say yes, but if so the vapor should exert a pressure of 31.8mmHg, and where would be the other 268.2mm Hg? The only explanation I thought is that a few bubbles of gas above the liquid makes the 31.8mmHg but the liquid still stays in contact with the piston making the other 268.2 mmHg. But I haven't read this in anywhere, is it right?

Physics news on Phys.org
Correction: "Above the pistons we have weights that do a initial pressure of 300 mm Hg"

Nobody knows the answer?

I do not see the need to subtract the vapor pressure anywhere. There is the same pressure beneath the piston as beneath the closed end, so the full effect of the piston weight is transmitted.

jaumzaum said: