1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Looking for an electrodynamics text that includes vector calculus instruction

1. Jun 12, 2009 #1
    Hello everyone, I wonder if a textbook like the one I described in the subject line exists - most of the classical electrodynamics textbooks I've looked at assume you already have a solid background in vector calculus. I'm trying to do a self-study in electrodynamics, and while I have taken courses in single variable calculus and differential equations I have little experience with vector calculus. I'm wondering if there's a text available that uses electrodynamics as a vehicle for teaching the concepts of vector calculus (divergence, curl, grad, etc.), or at least "holds your hand" a little bit more through the derivations than some of the "standard" texts I've looked at. Or perhaps I should just buckle down and do a course of study in vector calculus? Any input would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 12, 2009 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  4. Jun 12, 2009 #3

dx

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Feynman's book on electrodynamics (Feynman lectures vol 2.) includes a few chapters on vector calculus.

5. Jun 12, 2009 #4

Landau

Science Advisor

The first chapter in Griffiths reviews all the vector calculus you'll need for that book. But I guess you found it too brief, since you speak of 'classical books'?

6. Jun 13, 2009 #5
    The previously mentioned Div, Grad, Curl, and all that is exactly what you're looking for, I think.