Machine learning with particle physics

In summary, it is possible to apply machine learning concepts in various fields of physics, and a combination of a data science master's with a minor in particle physics or astrophysics could potentially lead to employment as a physics-related data scientist in industries such as insurance or market research. However, opportunities may be limited for working directly in physics research without a physics background, and jobs in this field may not be permanent. Further education, such as a PhD, may be necessary to have a clearer path for a career in physics or geosciences.
quantknight
In which fields of physics can we apply machine learning concepts? If I take data science master's with minor in particle physics or astrophysics, what are the possibilities that I would be employed as a physics related data scientist? (I am a programmer and I would like to change my career into employment or research in physics)

Likes Douglas Sunday and Grands
Physics news on Phys.org
First of all, it's important to keep in mind what you mean by "physics related". Are you asking about

1. organizations/companies where you can apply the skills you gained studying particle physics or astrophysics along with your data science masters, or

2. are you looking at places that are directly involved in physics?

If #1, then many of the skill sets involved in both data science and physics can be applied to a wide range of businesses -- lots of insurance companies and market research companies, for example, employ data scientists with a background in physics, in large part because physics graduates often possesses key skillsets (mathematical modelling, programming, analysis of large datasets) that these businesses require.