Majorana Equation Explained for Newbies

• Thread starter WeakCarrier
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Majorana
In summary, the conversation discusses the realistic wave equation, also known as the Dirac equation, which describes a spin-1/2 particle with a 4-component wave function. The equation is derived using Dirac matrices and states that E^2-p^2=m^2. The conversation also mentions the Majorana spinor, which is equal to its antiparticle and is explained in Peskin and Schroeder's exercise 3.13. This spinor is postulated to explain neutrino physics.
71cdba1951f42962d73136f2cb463bab.png

can someone please explain this realistic wave equation
i'm new with spinors :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I think you mean "relativistic wave equation" also called the "Dirac equation". the slashed [tex]\partial[/tex] is Feynman's short form for [tex]\gamma^\mu\partial_\mu[/tex] where [tex]\gamma^\mu[/tex]'s are the Dirac matrices (4x4) and [tex]\mu=0,1,2,3[/tex]. In essence, it is just an equation saying that [tex]E^2-p^2=m^2[/tex] for a spin-1/2 particle with wave function [tex]\psi[/tex]. [tex]\psi[/tex] is a 4-component object.
I guess I can go on and derive everything but since I don't know what level you are at, I shall keep my explanation to that as this stage. feel free to ask again.