1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Material Science Engineering.What is it? Give me a good description.

1. Nov 5, 2013 #1
    So at the college I'm in I'm a freshman Chemistry + (any) Engineering major (don't have to decide on what kind yet). I was set on going Chemistry + Biochemical engineering but when I went to my adviser he told me maybe think of becoming a Material Science Engineer. He said something along the lines of" biochemical, mechanical, electrical etc. (engineering) are established and the general engineering path however Material Science Engineer is on the cutting edge"
    ^ something like this...
    He essentially told me to go Material Science Engineering vs the "well established" routes because it's "hot",cutting edge etc.

So I came here tonight a bit confused if this fact is true or not and want a good description of this Engineering path. (not just some copy past wiki explanation)

Tysm in advance :approve:

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2013 #2
    ~bump~

4. Nov 7, 2013 #3
    I'm in an intro material science course right now ( engineering materials and science) and I swear it's the most boring class I have ever taken. It's all about the properties of materials and how they are formed and the engineering of these materials. Like you learn about how to engineer materials basically

5. Nov 7, 2013 #4