Math book recommendations for physics undergraduate

In summary, this person needs to revise calculus and vector calculus, as well as differential equations. They also mentioned they don't want anything deep and prefer books that are more readable and affordable. They like "Ordinary Differential Equations" by Morris/Pollard and "Intro to Linear Algebra" by Gilbert Strang.
Doplersleg
Hi,

I have completed my first year of studies, a year that was rather hard. So I am in need of some good books(or book) to revise my hole year of math. Mostly I need to revise calculus and vector calculus, as well as differential equations. Basic linear algebra would be great too.

Although I do have some knowledge of my mentioned topics, I had some trouble with basic understanding of some of the concepts, so the books shouldn't be very "deep". An as I am studying physics, it would be great if those books would relate math concepts with physics.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Not so much a recommendation, but something you should probably avoid would be Arfken & Weber's Mathematical Methods. The Math Methods for Physics course I took last quarter required it, and it was terrible. Definitions throughout it are sparse and there is very little intuition behind any of it. I heard Mary L. Boas' Math Methods book was a much better alternative.

On the other hand, I've heard nothing but good things about the following:
Calculus - Michael Spivak
Ordinary Differential Equations - V.I. Arnol'd
Linear Algebra Done Right - Sheldon Axler
Intro to Linear Algebra - Gilbert Strang
Calculus Vol. 1 and 2 - Apostol

The first chapter of Griffith's Electrodynamics (3rd Ed. now) serves as a nice mini-review for vector calc as well.

Likes poseidon721
Patrick_Nth said:

Hey, I used the same book! I love that book.

How's the Mathematical Methods for Physics and Engineering: A Comprehensive Guide
by K. F. Riley M. P. Hobson S. J. Bence ?

Patrick_Nth said: