1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math major experiencing typical crisis

1. Oct 20, 2008 #1
    I'm in a Spivak-based first year calculus course, and I'm fresh off getting a C or below on a midterm for making an elementary mistake on one problem (out of just four). So I'm in an introspective mood. Until then I had been doing fairly well, but that's not why I'm seeking advice.

It seems that I'm just not quite good enough at mathematics to justify my studies. I can pound through some of Spivak's tougher problems, and I pick up new mathematical techniques pretty quickly, but I'm terrible at competition-style problems, partly because I have no prior experience and partly because I'm just not smart enough. I'm also, well, slow, which kills me on tests, even if I know everything. Realistically, success in competitions is often a good predictor of future mathematical success, due to the measurement of problem-solving ability and all that good stuff. But there's no use whining about what, for the most part, can't be changed.

My issue is that, without the option of jobs that are virtually gated by natural intelligence (professor, research positions, high level-government positions, etc.), I'm lost as to what to do with a math degree. I have poor social skills and an absolutely hilarious inability to take the initiative (I can't even ask people for directions), which dramatically hurts my ability to be successful in the job market, especially with a fuzzy "math" degree. I would feel safer with a "guaranteed" career path like medicine or engineering, but I like math more than any of those fields.

Any advice for someone who's not talented enough for Ph.D level work, but certainly capable of smaller things?