Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mathematical equation of a Jet Stream of Air

1. Jan 1, 2010 #1
    Hi,

First of all, Happy new year to you all, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did :), but its back to work for me now :(.
    I am an electronics Student and doing a project about control systems to control a vertical jet stream of air coming out of a pipe.

My basic setup is a motor that blows out air from a pipe and a ping pong ball will eventually flout inside the low pressure of air stream coming out of the pipe, then a valve will be controlled to control the height of the ping pong ball.

I need help in understanding the physics and Maths behind the jet stream of air coming out of the pipe, since I need an equation that represents the jet stream of air. This will eventually be converted into laplace domain and used as the transfer function for my control system.

I have required some books about Thermodynamics and aerodynamics etc.. but can't come any close to a conclusion. I know about Bernoulli's equation and the pressure changes in the jet stream of air and why the ball eventually flouts inside it, but I have no clue in how I may find a mathematical equation that explains the behavior of this jet stream of air coming out the pipe.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks
    Uridan

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 2, 2010 #2
    Vertical jet stream of air

Hi,

Is there a way to find the transfer function of a vertical jet stream of air coming out of a pipe? The problem is that the stream of air is not inside a pre set volume, such as a wind tunnel. I don't thing that Bernoulli's equation is good since the pressure of the stream of air will change according to the pressure in the room.

Thanks
    Uridan

4. Jan 2, 2010 #3
    Control system for a jet stream of air

Hi fellow engineers,