Maximal effect in an AC circuit

In summary, the conversation is about a question that requires long calculations to get the answer. The person has provided their solution, but is unsure if it is correct as it is their first time solving this type of exercise. They have included pictures and their solution in both Swedish and English. The calculation result given is R1=170 Ohm, C2=6.5uF. The person is unsure if there are any errors in their calculations and asks for help from others. They later discover that there may have been rounding errors in their calculations.
David331
Homework Statement
Determine R1 and C2 so that the power in A-B is maximal.
Relevant Equations
See below
Hello again, I have a solution for the question, but as it is my first time solving these types of exercises I am uncertain if I my solution is correct. The first picture represents the exercise with the circuit and the second is the just some rewrites of the circuit, in swedish. Picture 3 and 4 is my solution, in english. Any help is much appreciated.
inlm 2.png
1.jpg

2.jpg
3.jpg

Physics news on Phys.org
This question requires long calculations to get the answer. My calculation result is R1=170 Ohm, C2=6.5uF.
I don’t know if I did something wrong that caused the calculation result to be inaccurate, but according to my calculation result is similar to yours, so I believe your calculation process is basically no problem.

Thanks for the answer! So, you got exact values of R1 and C2? Maybe there is just some rounding errors in prior computations? I will doublecheck my numbers once more.

This is probably due to rounding errors caused by my calculations being too sloppy, because in the calculation process, I used a very limited number of significant figures many times to write down the results displayed by the handheld calculator.

David331, here's what I got:

ParTran3.png

1. What is the maximal effect in an AC circuit?