1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Maximum acceleration before tipping occurs

1. Jan 9, 2009 #1
    Folks, I'm a newbie. I was given this problem to illustrate the concept of accounting for inertia in sliding friction or centripetal force problems, by a tutor. The tutor is unavailable and I am having trouble with the resolving the problem. The tutor's method to solve the problem was by equilibrium of moments, using simultaneous equations. I tried to find a trigonometry solution. I have come up with two different answers. I have an answer given by the tutor and was using it to work backwards, for my trigonometry solution. I think I must be missing a principle.

I did a search here and found similar questions but nothing quite the same. The difference being this box is already sliding, so it's not a question of sliding vs tipping. It's a question of how fast the box can be slid before tipping commences.

A box has a mass of 45 kg and is dragged along the ground with an acceleration by the horizontal force P. The centre of gravity of the box is 0.9 m above the ground and the base is 1.25 m wide. The force acts 1.2 m above the ground. The co-efficient of friction is 0.2. Calculate the maximum acceleration before tipping occurs. Answer given was 12.55 m/s2

I've scanned my work into .pdf format. I'll attached three documents. The first is my attempt at the trig solution, second is my working of the moments solution, the third is my notes from the tutorial.

Hope this is viewable.

Cheers,

oldmancan

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2009 #2
    In my diagram the pulling force P acts 1.2m above the bottom leading corner.
    The weight acts through the middle of the base 0.6125m behind the leading bottom corner.