Mechanical Engineering and High school problem

In summary, the conversation discusses the potential disadvantage of not taking Physics or Precalc in high school for someone wanting to become a mechanical engineer. The consensus is that it may not be a significant disadvantage, but it is recommended to take these classes in high school to better prepare for the rigorous workload in college. Some suggest taking college equivalent courses in the summer before starting college. Overall, it is important to plan ahead and discuss with a college advisor for the best preparation for engineering studies.
Timothy Stevens
Hello I am a senior in High School and I'm wanting to become a mechanical engineer but I have an issue I'm wondering how much of a disadvantage I would have for not taking Physics or Precalc in High school. I am now studying them up by myself even though I can't take them in High-school.

Physics news on Phys.org
It's a disadvantage only if you feel compelled to catch up all at once when you get to college and bite off more than you can chew. "Pre-calc?" You've had algebra? Trig.? Remember them?

Ok that is good I thought maybe my choice in Senior classes would hurt me a lot when I go to college just because I didn't take those two classes.

Timothy Stevens said:
Hello I am a senior in High School and I'm wanting to become a mechanical engineer but I have an issue I'm wondering how much of a disadvantage I would have for not taking Physics or Precalc in High school. I am now studying them up by myself even though I can't take them in High-school.

It's not that much of a disadvantage...what you don't know you will learn in college.

College engineering in general is a complete shocker to your average high schooler. You are going to have your hands full no matter what.

For your average person, be prepared to study 50 hours a week or say bye bye to any possible engineering degree.