Mechanical engineer's kVA question

• Thread starter bill nye scienceguy!
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mechanical
In summary, The individual is seeking information on how to calculate kVA for machine tools' power consumption given variables such as volts, frequency, and phase. The power factor, which is the ratio of actual power to apparent power, is also discussed. It is noted that power factor can vary for different types of loads, with inductive loads such as motors typically having a lower power factor than resistive loads like lightbulbs. The individual also asks for clarification on the relationship between kVA and kW, and the significance of working in 1- or 3-phase. It is explained that power factor must be taken into account when calculating kVA, and that it cannot be easily calculated from first principles.
bill nye scienceguy!
Hi all.

I'm a mechanical engineer by training and a manufacturing engineer by trade. I currently find myself in the position of being asked to fill out a spreadsheet containing, amongst other things, machine tools' power consumption in kVA.

Occasionally an OEM will be helpful and provide this directly in the datasheet but more often I'm given volts, frequency and phase. How can I reliably approximate a value for kVA given these variables or what else do I need to know in order to calculate?

Many thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
You need to know the current that is drawn by the machine to find power.

If I'm understanding the units correctly kVA is just kW, so as long as the supplier specifies the machine's power consumption you can convert to kW.

Last edited:
Sorry, it's been a long day. Of course I need to know current.