1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Merging Astrophysics and Computer Science

1. Sep 8, 2017 #1
    I am currently a student studying for my degree and I'm 18. My question is that is it possible to pursue Computer Science and Astrophysics simultaneously. As a child I was fascinated with the origin of the universe and wanted to know how everything started and how everything works and later in Life I got interested in programming and Artificial Intelligence and Quantum Computing recently. So my question is that, is there a way to somehow bridge the gap between Computer science (Artificial intelligence and Quantum computing more specifically) and Astrophysics that I can happily pursue in my future.I would be very happy to hear from everyone.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2017 #2
    I can't honestly think of any correlations with the two. Although I have had a similar question about merging AI and physics in general. There didn't seem to be a career in which the two would be applicable. You could be a computational physicist, but that's just physics with more programming involved than average. Could you double major/minor in both of the fields? Yes, it is very possible. Would you find a career where both would be applicable? No.

4. Sep 8, 2017 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Actually, if you're interested in pursuing astrophysics, I think you would be hard pressed NOT to find any overlap with computer science in the coming decades.