Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Metallic glass and its electrical resistivity

1. Nov 9, 2008 #1
    Hello guys.

My name is Luqman, and I am a new member of this forum. Currently studying in Japan on Metallic Glass/Glassy Metal/Metallic Alloy, which is a branch of solid state physics.

I have a million-dollar question though concerning metallic glass, which I would really appreciate if somebody could give me an answer (better still, a good website on the subject) to the question below:

I am relatively new to this subject, and it is like a common fact for metallic glass researchers that metallic glass` electrical resistivity DECREASES when the temperature increases. It is quite a weird phenomena, since normal metal`s electrical resistivity increases with increase temperature (because of the atom vibrations). As of now, the thesis and books I`ve read has taken this unique phenomena as a given, without explaining WHY it happens, in terms of the micro world. Does anybody know the answer to this?

I thank you all for helping me out!
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 9, 2008 #2
    Decreasing resistance with increasing temperature is a characteristic of semiconductors and insulators. The increase in temperature promotes electrons across the gap to the conduction band, increasing the number of charge carriers in the conduction and valence bands. I have never heard of metallic glasses. What are these made of?
  4. Nov 10, 2008 #3
    Thank you for your concern.

Metallic glass is basically made of metal elements, but the structure in the micro level is amorphous, i.e. glassy. Thus the name metallic glass. How it is made is by rapidly cooling a melt so that the structure remains amorphous, even though it will return to its solid form.

It is a relatively new material. You can check for more info at wikipedia.
  5. Nov 10, 2008 #4

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper