Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Minkowski Metric and Lorentz Metric

1. Feb 21, 2014 #1
    I am currently studying special relativity on my own and I am looking into space time and space time diagrams. While reading through various sources I came across what seemed to be two methods to describe space time.

X0, X1, X2, X3 (ct, x,y,z) -> Lorentz Metric

X1, X2, X3, X4 (x,y,z,ict) -> Minkowski Metric

The two "metrics" are confusing me. I understand that both systems were formed so that all 4 dimensions have the same units. However, I don't know which one to use and I dont really understand how each metric system was formed (the thought process behind their creation). The Minkowski metric is especially confusing for me due to the imaginary "ict" factor. I think the differences in the metric system also has to do with the signs of each term. For example i see both these notations floating around (-+++) and (+---). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 21, 2014 #2

Bill_K

Science Advisor

They're called signatures. The ict notation is an especially bad idea and hardly ever used any more, but the (+---) and (-+++) are widespread, and you have to keep alert for that. Both of these conventions are vigorously advocated by those who favor them.

4. Feb 21, 2014 #3
    The (x,y,z,ict) metric is an attempt to have a signature of the form (++++) so that the time dimension appears to be just like the space dimensions. In other words, ##s^2 = x^2+y^2+z^2+(ict)^2##. This notation did not really catch on. Mathematically ##s^2 = x^2+y^2+z^2+(ict)^2## is equivalent to ##s^2 = x^2+y^2+z^2-(ct)^2## because ##i = \sqrt{-1}## and ##i^2 =-1##.