MSc/MTech vs BTech/MTech for Nanotechnology/Material Science

• Thread starter valency
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Science
In summary, a Post Graduate degree in Physics from India is not preferred as much as a B Tech-M Tech combination in terms of employment opportunities. Employers are more interested in the courses taken rather than the specific name of the degree. Additionally, pursuing a PhD may involve teaching duties, so it may not be the best option for someone who is not interested in teaching.
valency
Hi I am a Post Graduate in Physics from India. I am very much interested in nanotechnology and Material science. I am not interested in teaching, I wish to work in the industry. Which choice is better- doing an M Tech or PhD? I am confused as I heard people with M Sc- M Tech combinations are not preferred as much as the B tech-M Tech ones. Is that true?
Please reply.

Physics news on Phys.org
i doubt employers are interested in the name of your degree, they tend to be more interested what courses you took, and probably the highest degree only.

You will likely have to deal with teaching duties during PhD studies and if you happen to get a faculty position. So PhD probably isn't for you

FAQ: MSc/MTech vs BTech/MTech for Nanotechnology/Material Science

What is the difference between an MSc/MTech and BTech/MTech in Nanotechnology/Material Science?

The main difference between an MSc/MTech and BTech/MTech in Nanotechnology/Material Science is the level of education and specialization. An MSc/MTech is a postgraduate degree that focuses on advanced concepts and research in a specific area, while a BTech/MTech is an undergraduate degree that provides a broad understanding of the field. Additionally, an MSc/MTech may require a thesis or dissertation, while a BTech/MTech may focus more on coursework and practical applications.

Which degree is better for a career in Nanotechnology/Material Science?