Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

My conductive pen is non-conductive.

1. Sep 8, 2009 #1
    I recently purchased a conductive trace pen to make guard rings on a circuit board. The problem is that the conductive pen isn't conductive at all. It has higher resistance than the PCB itself. I've never used one of these things before. Is there something you have to due to make these things conductive or something? Does anyone know of a conductive pen that actually works?

Here's the pen I bought. http://www.newark.com/techspray/2505-n/chemicals-coatings-conductive-pen/dp/69K4414

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2009 #2

turbo

Gold Member

Here's what you should try. Get a conductive-ink pen out of your kit and draw a line on an open space on a piece of circuit-board. Let the ink dry and check the resistance of the "trace" with your DMM. It should be very low, since the silver content of the ink (per manufacturer) is 85%.

The kits often contain "overcoat" pens that contain non-conductive coatings, though I'm sure that you are aware of that. Still if you grabbed an "overcoat" pen instead of a pen containing conductive ink, you would not be able to repair a break in a PCB trace with that.

4. Sep 8, 2009 #3
    I already tried writing large traces on a PCB and measuring it with my DMM. I even put a 30 volts across a trace and no current was conducted. I then took a MegaOhm meter to another sample I tried and it was reading the same value as the resistance of the PCB.

The pen says "Conductive Pen" right on it I know its the right one. The ink looks like its just the polymer and Acetone with no silver in it. Its a dull light gray instead of a shiny silver. There is definitely something defective about the pen I think.

5. Sep 8, 2009 #4

turbo

Gold Member