Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

My response to an anti-relativist

1. Mar 27, 2008 #1

aaj

I chanced upon an article http://homepage.mac.com/ardeshir/TrainDisprovesRelativity.html which sought to show through a thought experiment that SR is inherently contradictory.

Now I am not a pro in Relativity but from whatever understanding I have built up, here is the response that I sent across to the author. Guys, can you comment whether I make a point here or make a fool of myself?

I would like to point out that the fallacy you are making is the same one as in the commonly discussed 'Twin Paradox'.

You basic gist is that at the end of the thought experiment, it is possible to determine in an absolute sense whether it was the track/ platform that were moving or whether it was the train that was moving. You conclude on this basis that SR is contradictory since it refutes the concept of absolute motion.

Let me now explain why your argument is incorrect.