Is Mythbusters' conclusion about bullet velocity accurate?

In summary, a forum user has a question about a Mythbusters episode where they tested the lethality of a bullet fired directly upward and concluded that it would not be lethal when it hit the ground. The user questions this conclusion based on their understanding of physics and air resistance. Another user in the forum explains that air resistance plays a significant role and without it, the bullet would hit the ground at the same time whether it is fired or dropped. The original poster is then surprised to learn that the mass of the fired bullet is not greater than the mass of the dropped bullet.
jones106
Hey guys, I just discovered this forum and have a question for yall. I am by no means an expert in physics. I've taken general physics I and II, but my physics knowledge stops there.

Hate to do this, but I've got to ask a question pertaining to a Mythbusters episode that I just saw. They were testing whether or not a bullet fired directly upward would be lethal when it reached the ground. They concluded from their experimental results that the bullet would not be lethal when it hit the ground.

From my limited knowledge of basic physics, I would think that the bullet would hit the ground with the same velocity and therefore the same kinetic energy and momentum as when it left the barrel of the gun. Here is my reasoning for this: The bullet leaves the barrel traveling at a certain velocity, and gravity slows it down at a constant rate of 9.8m/s/s. The bullet's kinetic energy is completely converted to potential energy when it reaches its maximum height. The potential energy of the bullet is then converted to kinetic energy as the bullet falls back to earth. So, when the bullet reaches the ground it should have the same kinetic energy, and thus momentum, and when it left the barrel of the gun. I would think that the bullet would be just as lethal as when it was originally fired.