Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory, 5 year video

1. Feb 16, 2015 #1

OmCheeto

Gold Member
    2016 Award

I didn't know where to post this, but, this video makes my eyes water.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2015 #2
    Pretty wild, thanks for the share!

4. Feb 16, 2015 #3

OmCheeto

Gold Member
    2016 Award

I think I mentioned that I went to see "Interstellar", just to watch the graphics.
    I think NASA should release a 90 minute version of this on IMAX.
    I'd pay $20 for that. (+ $20 for popcorn!) :biggrin:

ps. According to my memory, I've never been to an IMAX show. hmmm... google, google, google. Ah ha!
    I was there!

5. Feb 16, 2015 #4

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Thanks Om :)

I have been saving daily solar images from the net for almost 20 years
    initially from SOHO when it came online somewhere around 1994-95 and now taken over by SDO

it's given me a big library of solar activity over the years :)

Dave

Last edited: Feb 16, 2015
  6. Feb 17, 2015 #4

OmCheeto

Gold Member
    2016 Award

20 years! :bugeye:
    So, I imagine that you understand some of the incomprehensible things going on.

I found the Goddard YouTube page, and watched about 10 more videos.
    The 3 year SDO video, was dreadful. It was like watching a Phillip Glass song. Interesting for about 10 seconds, and then you want to poke your eyes out.

Probably the most informative, was NASA | X-Class: A Guide to Solar Flares

Though I didn't much care for two of their comments:

"A solar flare, is basically an explosion on the surface of the sun..."
    An explosion? What the heck is exploding?

'Flares happen, when the powerful magnetic fields, in and around the sun, reconnect."
    How can magnetic fields become "un-connected" in the first place?
    Or did the narrator mean "connect"? And what would that mean?