1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need a demonstration of constant motion and balanced forces

1. Oct 20, 2012 #1
    I'm a high school physics teacher and I need a way to demonstrate net force = zero when something is moving at a constant speed. Usually some get it right away, some don't care and a few just really can't get their mind around it. I tell them about the parachutist, their car going 60 mph in a straight line on a smooth road, and the airplane at level flight but some still insist more force needs to be applied to keep the airplane from falling out of the sky.
    I'm doing a demonstration Monday which shows balanced forces with the object at rest using spring scales, masses and pulleys. I'm also doing accelerated motion with a motion detector, car, and a mass hanging over the table, tied to the car and the string going over a pulley. But I can't think of a way to show balanced forces with constant, uniform motion.
    Any ideas? Even a computer simulation might help.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2012 #2

A.T.

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Just take the whole arrangement that shows balanced forces with the object at rest, and move it at a constant velocity.

4. Oct 20, 2012 #3
    Thanks. Great idea and easy too.

5. Oct 20, 2012 #4
    As AT has observed the acceleration has to be zero.

Well you could have a sled or roller moving along a horizontal or inclined surface, with or without friction.

The weight balances the normal reaction and the pull force balances the friction.

All are directly measurable.

6. Oct 20, 2012 #5