Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need Help With Epsilon Neighbourhoods

1. Sep 23, 2013 #1
    Hello,

I am a physics undergrad with no experience in analysis and I have not had to do any proofs before. I am taking a class in complex analysis as an elective. I have been doing well in the course so far and improving on my rigour in proofs and such. On to my question:

As epsilon-neighbourhoods were introduced, I understand it completely on an intuitional level, but am having trouble using it in proofs. Does anyone know any good resources with examples to use as I could not find anything.

Thanks for your time!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 23, 2013 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

hello tanman24! welcome to pf! :smile:

usually, you simply have to make a suitable choice for δ as a function of ε, eg δ = kε. δ = √ε …

sometimes you need to specify two conditions, eg δ = kε and δ < 1

if you do a search on PF for "delta" and "epsilon", you should find plenty of examples :wink:

4. Sep 28, 2013 #3
    In complex analysis a neighborhood is a circle around the limit point. So say you are trying to prove that ##f(z) \rightarrow L## as ## z \rightarrow z_0##. What you want to show formally is that if you pick a small distance ##\epsilon## between f(z) and L you can always find a circle around ##z_0## where |f(z) - L| < ##\epsilon ## for every z inside the circle. The ## \delta ## comes in because that is the radius of the circle.

Please note that although they never say this, the ## \delta## depends not only on ## \epsilon ## but also on ##z_0##.