Nylon fiber guitar string sound

In summary, the conversation discusses the phenomenon of an old nylon fiber guitar base string becoming livelier or brighter after being loosened and retightened. The possible explanation is that this process breaks loose accumulated finger crud, allowing the string to vibrate more freely and produce more overtones. There is also speculation about the potential role of polymer crystallization or changes in the string's elasticity.
symbolipoint
Homework Helper
Education Advisor
Gold Member
Why does the sound of an old nylon fiber guitar base string on the guitar become suddenly "livelier", or "brighter", after being loosened and then retightened back to its normal tuning?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
hmm ... loosening and re-tightening breaks loose accumulated finger crud so that the string can vibrate more freely, allowing more overtones??

Otherwise, I'm stumped! (I play steel strings, so I have no experience to draw on.)

Can you convince us this effect is not in your head? And by "base", did you mean "bass", as in wound strings? If this happened with the unwound strings it would be even more mysterious ...

I'm not sure about this specific case, but some polymers have a tendency to crystalize somewhat after being stressed. Could it be that the elasticity of the string has changed?

Related to Nylon fiber guitar string sound

1. How does the type of string affect the sound of a nylon fiber guitar?

The type of string used on a nylon fiber guitar greatly affects its sound. Nylon strings have a warm and mellow tone, while other materials like steel produce a brighter and more metallic sound. The thickness and tension of the strings also play a role in the overall sound produced.

2. Can the gauge of the string affect the sound of a nylon fiber guitar?