Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Optical system & diffraction limit

1. Jan 27, 2015 #1
    can you please let me know if this sentence is true about optical systems or not?
    "Diffraction may limit the resolution achivable by an optical system"
    Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2015 #2

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

yes ( not just may limit .... it WILL limit)

now had you pasted you question into google, you would come up with dozens of links telling you that and why it happens

Dave

4. Jan 28, 2015 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

Does that include systems which are primarily limited by aberrations?

5. Jan 28, 2015 #4

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Im no optics expert :)

good Q ;) maybe, depending on the type of aberration ? take spherical or chromatic aberration ... they effects are mainly seen around the
    outer part of the lens/mirror, and it may be quite bad ... I have seen more than one poorly ground telescope mirror over the years ;)
    I would expect that maybe for the central part of the optics, resolution is still diffraction limited

The final / fundamental resolution limit is due to diffraction.

Dave

6. Jan 28, 2015 #5

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

While diffraction limits the maximum possible resolution an optical system may have, I'd say that an optical system can be limited by aberrations and not diffraction if the aberrations are severe enough.

7. Jan 28, 2015 #6