Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Perception of time, relative and distant.

Tags:
  1. Jan 24, 2015 #1
    Hello!

This is my first post, so I should make a small introduction. I am not a science expert in anyway shape or form, but I am a keen enthusiast who regularly keeps up to date with science news through popular websites such as IFLS, Space, BBC etc.

I have been wondering about this particular thing for some time, maybe somebody is able to shed some light.

If time, or the perception of time is affected due to the size of objects in space, then does it affect also how we see objects in space from either direction (i.e observing from here to there, or vice versa)?

So if there were, hypothetically, two planets inhabited by humans, far away from each other. One much larger than the other, where time moves slower. Say we could monitor each other, up close, through telescopes... would we from one side, see our fellow humans going about daily life in super slow motion, and they would see us as the opposite, in a sort of super speedy mode?

Any insights you can provide in order to help me understand the relationship here would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks!

Mark C

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 24, 2015 #2

Bandersnatch

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi Mark, welcome to PF!

You're probably talking about the gravitational time dilation - time slows down near a massive body when compared to the passage of time far away from that body. Note that this is not about size, but about mass and the distance from it.

Yes, you could in principle observe the difference like you described, but it would be minuscule for any mass difference of the planets that would still allow humans to live and not be immediately crushed. In the order of extra milliseconds per day. Completely unnoticeable without very precise equipment.