Phd in Astrophysics after Masters in Comp Science

• Physics
  • Thread starter HEAT_RS
  • Start date
Hi,

I Have done my Masters in Computer Science from a top 20 universities of USA but I am not satisfied my this, I always wanted to become Astronomical Scientist.

I Have read rules & guidelines, didnt answer my queries.

Q1. How to tough is fit or a computer science graduate to do phd in Astrophysics/Astronomy ?

Q2. How tough is it to get in CALTECH?

Q3. I cant sleep at night thinking about Universe, I have 100+ new theories related to universe to prove something to world, are u all guys like me or I m a unique stupid?????

- Heat RS

Answers and Replies

cristo
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
What's your undergraduate degree in? Have you studied any physics?

I did my bachelors of engineering in Information Technology from India.

cristo
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
So you have done no undergraduate physics? In which case it will not be possible to do a PhD in Physics/Astrophysics.

So you have done no undergraduate physics? In which case it will not be possible to do a PhD in Physics/Astrophysics.

It will not be possible ? ROFL.

I will do it no matter what I have to learn & for how long.

Thank you so much for prompt replies.

Q1. How to tough is fit or a computer science graduate to do phd in Astrophysics/Astronomy ?

Depends on previous background.

Q2. How tough is it to get in CALTECH?

Quite hard, but there are dozens of other schools.

Q3. I cant sleep at night thinking about Universe, I have 100+ new theories related to universe to prove something to world, are u all guys like me or I m a unique stupid????

You aren't going to be very productive at physics.