Physics applications in cancer research/treatment

In summary, the speaker is a third year undergraduate physics major who is considering pursuing a masters degree in engineering, but wants to find a way to incorporate their passion for cancer research into their career. They are interested in knowing what fields of physics would be relevant for developing treatment methods or machinery for cancer, and are also requesting examples of how physics research is currently being used in medical treatments. Some potential resources for further exploration are provided.
Matthew Slater
I am a third year undergraduate physics major. Often time people ask what I want to do with physics, and I didn't really have an answer for them. I guess I always assumed I'd pursue a masters degree in some kind of engineering, but I want to be able to do something that I'm passionate about. Something that has impacted my life tremendously has been cancer, and I would like to eventually work on developing better treatment methods for the disease.
What fields of physics would I need to get into in order to work on developing either treatment methods or machinery used in treatment? Could you also provide some examples in which physics research is being used in medical treatments? Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org

1. How is physics used in cancer research?

Physics is used in cancer research in various ways. One common application is the use of imaging techniques such as X-rays, MRI, and PET scans to detect and monitor tumors. Physics is also used to study the physical properties of cancer cells, such as their elasticity and motion, which can provide valuable insights into their behavior and response to treatments.

2. How does radiation therapy work in cancer treatment?