1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics B.S. going for Electrical Engineering M.S Experiences?

1. Aug 20, 2014 #1
    Hi all. So I've stalked the forum for the past few months or so and read more threads than I can count. Figured it was time to join up and post a bit. The title basically says everything I want to ask, but let me go into a bit more detail.

I'm 21 and I graduated with a Physics B.S. this Spring and am heading straight into an EE M.S. program where I'll focus on photonics and opto-electronics. I lucked out hard and, because of a bunch of factors, don't have any courses to make up. Despite that, I'm apprehensive about what I'll be up against just jumping straight into engineering with virtually no "applicable" engineering academic background. I should probably mention that I'm taking solid state electronics, E&M in electronics, and a modern optics class (offered by the physics department), so my first semester is basically just physics classes as far as I can tell. My subsequent semesters (providing class offerings are favorable) are looking to be very similar with classes on lasers, semiconductor devices, photonics, quantum in EE, etc.