Prereq for Will: Theory and Experiment in Gravitational Phys

In summary, The conversation is about the book "Theory and Experiment in Gravitational Physics" by Clifford M. Will, which is considered an important reference for modern research in General Relativity. It is mentioned that the book can be used as a graduate textbook, but prior knowledge in GR is necessary to understand it. The person also asks for recommendations for an introduction to the PPN formalism for gravity, which is suggested to be Poisson and Will's book.
Cygnus_A
Hi, I'm wondering how much prior knowledge I would need to get a lot out of this book. I'm considering taking an undergraduate General Relativity course next semester to help me learn parts of this book. I have some basic experience with curvilinear coords/tensor analysis along with a brief understanding of GR and cosmology from a couple seminars I attended.

Has anyone read parts of this book? It seems to be an extremely important reference for modern research in GR. The preface states that it can be used as a graduate textbook, but I get the feeling that it couldn't be used as an introduction, even for a grad course.

Theory and Experiment in Gravitational Physics
Author: Clifford M. Will
Date Published: March 1993

links for more info:
adsabs harvard
google books
about author

Also, I'm wondering if anyone knows of other good books for an intro to the PPN formalism for gravity.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
You definitely need to have taken a graduate sequence in GR in order to get anything out of Cliff Will's book. It's a brilliant book and I've used it as a reference for research a handful of times but it's definitely not a pedagogical text.

As for an introduction to PPN, I would recommend Poisson and Will.

Likes Cygnus_A
Thanks! that's exactly what I was looking for

1. What is the significance of "Prereq for Will" in gravitational physics?