Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

News President in Prague rewrites history

1. Apr 7, 2009 #1
    http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2009/apr/05/text-of-president-obama-in-prague/" [Broken]

Obama:

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 7, 2009 #2

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm no expert in recent European history, but that sounds more or less right to me (if you set aside some nuances in the political change already stemming from Moscow). What am I missing?

4. Apr 7, 2009 #3

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Come on Gokul, it's a guessing game.

5. Apr 7, 2009 #4

chemisttree

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Is this statement true or a bit of exaggeration?

By the time of the Velvet Revolution, the old Soviet Union had essentially collapsed. It's economy was in a shambles, the Military had just lost a war to the Afghans, and Gorbachev's reforms were well underway. Those reforms led to more political and economic openness. The Velvet Revolution was the final straw on that camel's back.

6. Apr 7, 2009 #5

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Yes, the language is certainly overly flowery and generous, but I guess that's the kind of stuff you say when you are a guest. Especially, since this is the 20th anniversary year of the Velvet Revolution.

Maybe I would have personally preferred a speech with a little less flattery, but I'm not sure there would be too many political advisers or diplomats that would propose a speech that said: "Yeah, we know that Gorby was already making changes and the Velvet Rev was more symbolic of political change than actually a primary instrument of political upheaval, but yeah, goodish job, y'all. You broke an old and tired camel's back. I give you half a thumbs up."